Ohio regulates pest control as pesticide application, not as construction. Under R.C. 921.09 no one may own or operate a pesticide business without a license from the Director of Agriculture, and under R.C. 921.06 no individual may apply pesticides for a pesticide business without either a commercial applicator license or direct supervision as a trained serviceperson. ODA requires at least one licensed commercial applicator to be employed for each licensed business location. Structural work falls in Category 10a (General Pest Control), 10b (Termite Control), 10c (Fumigation) and Category 7 (Vertebrate Animal Control) for rodents and pest birds.
The fees are low — $35 per licensing period for the business and $35 for each applicator — but the insurance is not: OAC 901:5-11-07(B) requires commercial general liability with $300,000 aggregate, $300,000 per occurrence and $300,000 products/completed operations, filed with ODA for as long as the license is valid. Wood-destroying insect (WDI) inspections for real estate deals are licensed work in their own right (Category 12) even when nothing is treated, and carry separate errors-and-omissions coverage. Every license expires September 30.
The state sets the license floor; the county or city permit office controls filing, inspections, and local rules wherever the job site sits.
Pesticide regulation is exclusively state-level for private property: R.C. 921.26(C)(2) prohibits political subdivisions from regulating or banning the packaging, registration, labeling, sale, storage, distribution, use or application of a registered pesticide on private property. The building-department contractor registrations run by Columbus, Cleveland, Cincinnati, Toledo, Dayton and Akron are tied to permitted construction work, not pesticide application. Municipal income tax still applies wherever the work is performed.
The local offices section below names the exact permit desk for every Ohio county on file.
Each row names the issuing authority, cost, timeline, citation, and status behind the requirement — verified against the official source.
Published fees from the issuing authorities, as of October 2026. Local permit fees vary by project and jurisdiction — the basis is stated where a flat number does not exist.
ODA's fees are $35 per credential, but the $300,000 liability policy must stay on file for as long as the business license is valid.
Business and applicator licenses both run October 1 through September 30. An applicator who misses September 30 may still renew through March 31 if recertification hours were finished on time.
ODA lists a minimum applicant age of 18 effective January 1, 2027.
A practical sequence for a new pest control contractor in Ohio. Actual agency processing times are noted in the ledger above.
Each item names the issuing authority, cycle, and citation.
Statutory consequences with their citations — not estimates, not “commonly cited” guesses.
Violating Chapter 921 — including operating a pesticide business or applying for hire without a license — is a crime.
The Director of Agriculture may hold a hearing and assess civil penalties against anyone who has violated Chapter 921 or its rules.
A business renewal not postmarked before expiration pays 50% more.
Inside city limits, the city office listed here issues the permit; the county office serves unincorporated areas. Every office links to its official page.
Every fact in this file was checked against these official sources on October 2026.
Pending verification: Commercial applicator exam fees (not stated on the ODA pages or rules fetched) · Dollar amount of ODA civil penalties under OAC 901:5-11-99 (rule not retrieved in full) · Whether the 50% late surcharge in OAC 901:5-11-03 also applies to commercial applicator renewals (not stated in OAC 901:5-11-04 as fetched)
General information, not legal advice. Always confirm requirements, deadlines, and forms with the issuing authority before filing or contracting.
Store licenses, permits, policies, and renewal dates in one place.